10 August, 2011

August 10, 1519

Ferdinand Magellan sets sail in an attempt to sail around the world. He will take with him, five ships: the Trinidad, San Antonio, Concepcion, Santiago, and Victoria (right).

A little more than three years  later, the Victoria will be the only ship that completes the expedition, led by Magellan’s second in command after his death in the Philippines.

No comments:

Post a Comment